Welcome to Onufri Publishing House!
Free Call +355-42-220-017
Samanta Schweblin

Samanta Schweblin

Samantha Schweblin’s recently released novel, ‘Distancia de Rescate’ (published under the title ‘Fever Dream’, by Oneworld in the UK and by Riverhead Books in USA, with translation by Megan McDowell) is shortlisted for The Man Booker International Prize 2017.

Samanta Schweblin is regarded as one of the most distinguished storytellers writing in Spanish today. Included on the Granta List of best young writers in the Spanish language, her books have merited numerous and prestigious awards such as the Casa de las Américas Prize for El núcleo del disturbio (The Core of the Disturbance), the Juan Rulfo Prize for Un hombre sin suerte (A Man Without Luck), and the Ribera del Duero Prize for Siete casas vacías (Seven Empty Houses) among others.

The publication of Schweblin’s first novel in USA and UK, Distancia de rescate (Fever Dream), has been hailed by critics as one of the great literary events of the year.

The Man Booker International Prize revealed, on April 20th, the six novels in contention for the 2017 prize, which celebrates the finest works of translated fiction from around the world. The prize is awarded every year for a single book, which is translated into English and published in the UK. Both novels and short-story collections are eligible. The judges considered 126 books.

The selection was made by a panel of five judges, chaired by Nick Barley (Director of the Edinburgh International Book Festival), Daniel Hahn (ward-winning writer, editor and translator), Helen Mort (award-winning poet); Elif Shafak (Turkish author and academic) and Chika Unigwe (Nigerian-born writer).

The shortlist includes: Mathias Enard (France), Charlotte Mandell (translator), for Compass (Fitzcarraldo Editions); David Grossman (Israel), Jessica Cohen, for A Horse Walks Into a Bar (Jonathan Cape); Roy Jacobsen (Norway), Don Bartlett, Don Shaw, for The Unseen (Maclehose);  Dorthe Nors (Denmark), Misha Hoekstra, for Mirror, Shoulder, Signal (Pushkin Press); Amos Oz (Israel), Nicholas de Lange, for Judas (Chatto & Windus) and Samanta Schweblin (Argentina), Megan McDowell (translator), for Fever Dream(Oneworld).

The winner of the 2017 prize will be announced on June 14th.

Shto nje koment

Fushat e kerkuara jane te shenuara me %s